What We Do:

Council of Women World Leaders

Empowering Women Around the World

Council of Women World Leaders

About Members 

 Programs and Activities  |  Ministerial Initiatives

Advisors Leaders 

About Us

The Council of Women World Leaders is a network of current and former women prime ministers and presidents established in 1996 by Vigdís Finnbogadóttir, President of Iceland (1980-1996) and first woman in the world to be democratically elected president, Mary Robinson, President of Ireland (1990-1997) and Laura Liswood, Secretary General. Through its networks, summits, ministerial initiative, partnerships, fellows, and programs, the Council promotes good governance and gender equality, and enhances the experience of democracy globally by increasing the number, effectiveness, and visibility of women who lead their countries. The Council’s goal is to use the symbolic importance of women leaders and the substantive experience of its members to support women’s full participation and representation in the political process at the highest levels, and future women leaders. President Dalia Grybauskaite (@Grybauskaite_LT) of Lithuania serves as Chair of the Council. The Council is hosted at the UN Foundation.

Council's Unique Position

The Council is has uniquely positioned itself to utilize men and women at the forefront of business, government, academia, media and civil society to foster dialogue on gender issues. Our direct access to global leaders and concise mission differentiate the Council from peer organizations, and elevate the impact of the dialogue we seek to create.

“Leadership is not easy. But it gives you power to change things, power to make things better. The Council works to elevate the voice of women who embrace the challenge of leadership.” -Laura Liswood, Secretary General

Council of Women World Leaders News 

Press Releases and Media

How Can We Get More Women Top Leaders?
    March 28, 2016

President Dalia Grybauskaitė met with former President of Finland Tarja Halonen
    May 21, 2015

President Grybauskaitė invites President Kolinda Grabar-Kitović to join the Council of Women World Leaders  -  May 9, 2015

President Grybauskaitė delivers speech on Women's Issues at the Regional Conference & Consultations on Implentation of UNSCR 1325 in the OSCE Region  -  April 21, 2015

President Grybauskaitė's Blog for World Economic Forum  -  November 19, 2014

President Grybauskaitė elected to chair the Council of Women World Leaders  -  September 24, 2014

President Park Geun-hye Joins Council of Women World Leaders  -  February 24, 2014