What We Do:

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo: President, The Philippines, 2001-2010

Empowering Women Around the World


Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo: President, The Philippines, 2001-2010

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo is the fourteenth President of the Philippines. She is the country's second female president, and the daughter of former President Diosdado Macapagal. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo began her professional carrer as a professor of economics. She entered the Philippines government in 1987, as an Assistant Secretary of the Department of Trade and Industry upon the invitation of President Corazon Aquino, and rose to the rank of Undersecretary of Trade and Industry. From 1992 to 1998 she served as a Senator and in 1998, she was elected to the Vice Presidency under President Joseph Estrada, despite having run on an opposing ticket. Estrada simultaneously appointed her as Secretary of Social Welfare and Development, a position she held until she resigned from the Cabinet on October 12, 2000 when Estrada was accused of corruption. Estrada was soon forced from office by peaceful street demonstrations, and Arroyo was subsequently sworn into the Presidency on January 20, 2001. In 2004, she was elected to a full six-year presidential term in her own right and was sworn in June 30, 2004. In 2009, Forbes named her 44th Most Powerful Woman in the World.

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo can be found at:

Official Site of Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo