Who We Are:

Council of Women World Leaders: Advisory Group

Helping the United Nations Foundation Support the UN in Creating a Better World


Council of Women World Leaders: Advisory Group

The Honorable Oscar Arias Sanchez*

President of Costa Rica (1986-1990) and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Dr. Lee C. Bollinger

President, Columbia University

Countess Clarissa Bonde*

Artist and philanthropist

Ms. Maria Livanos Cattaui*

Secretary General of the International Chamber of Commerce (1996-2005)

His Excellency Valéry Giscard d’Estaing*

President of France (1974-1981)

Walter Isaacson

President and CEO, The Aspen Institute

Mr. Donald J. Johnston*

Secretary-General of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (1996-2006)

The Honorable FW de Klerk*

President of South Africa (1989-1994) and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate

Dr. Dragoljub Najman*

Former Montenegrin Ambassador to UNESCO

Her Majesty Queen Noor

Humanitarian Activist; UN Expert Advisor

Dean Joseph S. Nye, Jr.*

Dean of the John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University (1995-2004)

Mr. Pär Stenbäck*

Secretary General of the Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (1988-1992)

Ambassador Thorvald Stoltenberg*

Chairman of the Board of International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (1979-1981)

Dr. Rita Süssmuth*

President of the German Parliament (1988-1998)

Ms. Judy Woodruff

Prime Anchor and Senior Correspondent for CNN (1993-2005)

Silvana Koch-Mehrin

Founder of the Women in Parliament Global Forum and Former Vice President of the European Parliament (2004-2014)

* = Founder